# SUMMARY ACTION MINUTES (Action Items Displayed in *Italics*)

Balboa Island Museum, Newport Beach, CA

#### 1. ROLL CALL

Commissioners Barbara Force Johannes, Phil Chinn, Bob Bunyan, Lee Ramos, Marilyn Thoms, Lynne Yauger, Pamela Harrell, Helen Myers, Don Dobmeier, Steve Sarkis, Steve Adamson, and Alexandria Coronado Hughes.

Absent: Commissioner Mechelle Lawrence-Adams (excused).

Heather Glasgow, OC Parks
Tiffany Pepys Hoey, Balboa Island Museum
Shirley Pepys, Balboa Island Museum
Dennis Shaffer, OC Parks
Michelle Steele, Supervisor 2<sup>nd</sup> District, Orange County Board of Supervisors
Brit Webb, Balboa Island Museum

#### 2. REVIEW OF SUMMARY ACTION NOTES

#9- Finish sentence on Commissioner Harrell's comments.

#### 3. COMMISSION STAFF REPORTS

Heather Glasgow gave out information for upcoming holiday events at Heritage Hill Historical Park and Mission San Juan Capistrano.

#### 4. OC PARKS STAFF REPORTS

None.

# 5. PRESERVATION AWARD PRESENTATION TO BALBOA ISLAND MUSEUM

Commissioners Myers and Ramos presented Pepys and other members of the museum with a Historic Preservation Award on behalf of the OC Historical Commission for their continued efforts in preserving the history of Orange County in Balboa Island.

#### 6. BALBOA ISLAND MUSEUM PRESENTATION

Shirley Pepys, founding member of the Balboa Island Museum, gave the background and history of the creation of the Balboa Island Museum, and the selection of the permanent residence on Marine Avenue.

# 7. SECOND DISTRICT REMAKRS

Supervisor Steele presented the museum members with a proclamation for their efforts in opening the new permanent location for the museum, and their continued service to the people of Orange County. She also recognized Shirley Pepys for her efforts in the opening of the of the permanent location of the museum.

# 8. NOMINATING COMMITTEE REPORT

Nominating Committee has selected the following Commissioners as nominees for Officers in 2020.

Chair- Helen Myers

Vice Chair- Lee Ramos

12-0 unanimous pass, Commissioner Lawrence-Adams absent.

Voting on the presented slate of nominees will take place at the January 2020 meeting.

# 9. COMMISSIONER REPORTS

None.

# **10. PUBLIC COMMENTS**

None.

ADJOURNMENT: 10:40 a.m.